Frequently Asked Questions

FAQ search engine

< Back to results

Search results

What is the Nice Classification or international classification of products and services? What is the so-called "Harmonised" classification?

The Nice classification groups products and services into 45 different classes: A total of 34 for products and 11 for services.

On top of this classification, the EU offices have created the “harmonised” classification, comprised of a repository of descriptive terms for products or services which are accepted by all the offices within the EU.

Each class consists of a series of interrelated products or services. For example class 32 is for:


Beers; drinks without alcohol; mineral waters; fruit-based beverages and fruit juices; syrups and other non-alcoholic preparations for making beverages.

Furthermore, together with the general name or title of the class are examples of terms that describe specific products or services protected by each class which may originate from the Nice classification or the European “harmonised” classification. For example, in class 32: “flavoured beers” or “hop extract to make beers” which can be used to specify the type of product or service to be protected in a clearer, more precise way.

< Back to results